Three Services as one force, being the best in everything we do  

New Zealand Long Service and Good Conduct Medals - The Efficiency Medal

Obverse View

The Efficiency Medal obverse view

Reverse View

The Efficiency Medal reverse view

About the Efficiency Medal

Since 1931 the Efficiency Medal has been awarded to non commissioned personnel of the New Zealand Territorial Force (Army) who complete twelve years continuous and efficient service. It replaced the Colonial Auxiliary Forces Long Service Medal.

Efficiency Medals have also been issued by many other Commonwealth countries and British colonies, including the United Kingdom, Australia, Bermuda, Canada, Falkland Islands, Hong Kong, Kenya, Malta, South Rhodesia and Trinidad / Tobago. These awards are generally of the same design and also specify the country or colony, but sometimes have a different ribbon.

New Zealand is one of the small number of countries who still issue the Efficiency Medal to currently-serving military personnel.

Royal Warrant

The original Royal Warrant for the Efficiency Medal and four amending Royal Warrants for the Efficiency Medal can be viewed here.


The New Zealand Regulations for the Efficiency Medal can be viewed here.

Clasps and Bars

Clasps are awarded for each additional six years efficient service. The service does not need to have been continuous.

Order of Wear

The position of this medal in the Wearing of Medals in New Zealand Table can be viewed here.

No Post Nominal

The award of the Efficiency Medal does not confer a right to use a post nominal.