Three Services as one force, being the best in everything we do  

Ribbons of British Commonwealth War and Campaign Medals Awarded to New Zealanders

1840 to 1902 - New Zealand Wars and the South African / Boer War

The New Zealand Medal

The Queen's South Africa Medal

The King's South Africa Medal

1914 to 1918 - First World War

The 1914 Star (also know as the Mons Star)

The 1914 - 1915 Star

The British War Medal 1914 - 1920

The Mercantile Marine War Medal

The Victory Medal 1914 - 1918

Also awarded by NZ and Australia for service at Gallipoli: The ANZAC Commemorative Medallion.


1939 to 1945 - Second World War

The 1939 - 1945 Star

The Atlantic Star

The Air Crew Europe Star

The Africa Star

The Pacific Star

The Burma Star

The Italy Star

The France and Germany Star

The Defence Medal

The War Medal 1939 - 1945

Also awarded by NZ for Second World War service: The New Zealand War Service Medal.


1946 to 2003 - most commonly awarded to New Zealanders for service in Korea, Malaya, Borneo or Rhodesia

The Korea Medal

The Naval General Service Medal 1915 - 1962

The General Service Medal 1918 - 1962

The General Service Medal 1962

The Rhodesia Medal

Also awarded by NZ for post-Second World War operational service: The New Zealand Operational Service Medal.

 This page was last reviewed 29 September, 2011 and is current.

Chief of Defence Force
Defence House
2 - 12 Aitken Street
+64 4 496 0999

Royal New Zealand Navy

New Zealand rmy

Royal New Zealand Airforce