Three Services as one force, being the best in everything we do  

British Commonwealth Gallantry, Meritorious and Distinguished Service Awards - The Conspicuous Gallantry Medal

Obverse View

The Conspicuous Gallantry Medal obverse view

Reverse View

The Conspicuous Gallantry Medal reverse view

About the Conspicuous Gallantry Medal

The Conspicuous Gallantry Medal (CGM) was instituted in 1855 as the Navy's equivalent to the Distinguished Conduct Medal. It was for award to senior and junior ratings. However, from 1942 its coverage was extended to Air Force personnel of equivalent ranks serving with the Navy. Different medal ribbons distinguish awards to Navy and Air Force recipients. The ribbon for Air Force recipients is shown on this page.

In 1993, the CGM was replaced in the United Kingdom by the Conspicuous Gallantry Cross. The CGM continued to be awarded in New Zealand until the introduction of New Zealand's own system of Gallantry and Bravery awards in 1999. The CGM was replaced in New Zealand by the New Zealand Gallantry Star.

Royal Warrant

Many of these Decorations and Awards are very old and the Royal Warrants which instituted them have been subject to significant amendment during their currency. More information on the Royal Warrant and criteria for the British Gallantry, Meritorious and Distinguished Service Awards can be found in the publications listed in the Bibliography. A publication titled British Gallantry Awards by P.E. Abbott and J.M.E. Tamplin is particularly recommended.


Most Gallantry, Meritorious and Distinguished Service Awards do not have separate Regulations. Instructions for their administration are usually included in the Royal Warrant.

Clasps and Bars

Bars were awarded for subsequent acts of gallantry.

Order of Wear

The position of this award in the Wearing of Medals in New Zealand Table can be viewed here.