Three Services as one force, being the best in everything we do  

British Commonwealth Gallantry, Meritorious and Distinguished Service Awards - The Queen’s Gallantry Medal

Obverse View

The Queen’s Gallantry Medal obverse view

About this award

The Queen's Gallantry Medal (QGM) was instituted in 1974 to replace the British Empire Medal for Gallantry. It was primarily awarded to civilians for exemplary acts of bravery, however, it was also awarded to military personnel where a military decoration was not considered appropriate.

In 1999 the QGM was replaced in New Zealand by the New Zealand Bravery Decoration.

Royal Warrant

Many British awards have a considerable history and the Royal Warrants which instituted them have been subject to significant amendment during their currency. More information on the Royal Warrants and criteria for the British Gallantry, Meritorious and Distinguished Service Awards can be found in the publications listed in the Bibliography. A publication titled ‘British Gallantry Awards' by P.E. Abbott and J.M.E. Tamplin is particularly recommended.


Most Gallantry, Meritorious and Distinguished Service Awards do not have separate Regulations. Instructions for their administration are usually included in the Royal Warrant.

Clasps and Bars

Bars are awarded for subsequent acts of bravery.

Order of Wear

The position of this award in the Wearing of Medals in New Zealand Table can be viewed here.