Three Services as one force, being the best in everything we do  

New Zealand Defence Service Medal

The New Zealand Defence Service Medal was instituted in April 2011 to recognise attested military service since 3 September 1945. The Royal Warrant for the NZDSM allows for one or more clasps to be awarded with the medal. The number of clasps awarded to an individual will be determined by the type(s) of military service undertaken by the individual. There are four clasps which can be awarded with the NZDSM: REGULAR, TERRITORIAL, C.M.T. and NATIONAL SERVICE.

The award of the NZDSM does not qualify a recipient for the award of the New Zealand Operational Service Medal.

Applications are now being accepted from all ex-Service persons and from the families of deceased ex-Service persons.

Quick Links:

Applying for the NZDSM online. Just click on the How to Apply Online button below.

How to apply online for the NZ Defence Service Medal

Paper application forms for the NZDSM


Link to Ribbon

The New Zealand Defence Service Medal Ribbon can be viewed here.