Three Services as one force, being the best in everything we do  

New Zealand Defence Service Medal - All four clasps shown

Obverse View

All four clasps shown obverse view

The image on this page is of the New Zealand Defence Service Medal (NZDSM) with the REGULAR, TERRITORIAL, NATIONAL SERVICE and C.M.T. clasps.

About the New Zealand Defence Service Medal

The institution of the New Zealand Defence Service Medal has been formally approved by Queen Elizabeth II in 2011 to recognise attested military service since 3 September 1945. The Royal Warrant for the NZDSM allows for one or more clasps to be awarded with the medal.  The number of clasps awarded to an individual will be determined by the type(s) of military service undertaken by the individual. There are four clasps which can be awarded with the NZDSM: REGULAR, TERRITORIAL, C.M.T. and NATIONAL SERVICE. All four clasps are shown in the image on this page.

The award of the NZDSM does not qualify a recipient for the award of the New Zealand Operational Service Medal.


Order of Wear

The position of this medal in the Wearing of Medals in New Zealand Table will be added to this website after the Governor-General has approved the position in the Order of Wear.

More information

More information on the NZDSM can be found on the New Zealand Defence Service Medal page of our website, including a photograph of the reverse of the medal.